EN l FR l DE






History of CHÂTEAU DES BOIS
The fiefdom of Turrettin, also known as CHÂTEAU DES BOIS, was established on feudal land on 14th June 1631 in honour of the memory of François Turrettini, benefactor of the Republic of Geneva.

During the Renaissance Europe was torn apart by religious struggles Geneva was the city of safety. The invention of the printing press and translations of the Bible fostered new ideas. In Lucques, the Florentine Pietro Martire impassioned the city with his lectures about the New Testament and the Psalms. When the Bishop of Rimini came to the “infected city”* in April 1573 to arrest the heretics, many young people left and Francesco fled the city in 1574. Passing through Lyon, where he joined up with fellow believers who had already left, he reached Geneva on 24th November 1575 where he stayed for four years before he continued to Anvers. He lived there until 1585 but had to flee when the town was besieged by the army of the Duke of Parma together with the Spanish. After spending two years in Frankfurt and Basel, he settled in Zurich in 1587 where he married Camille Burlamachi from a family, who like the Micheli, Calandrini and Diodati families, had been forced to flee Lucques. He settled permanently in Geneva in 1592. As he had become considerably wealthy during his life, and in order to thank God for his gifts, François left a sum of 12,000 florins to the hospital of his adopted city in order that “begging and poverty be banished from this city”.

1602 was the year of the Escalade (literally “the scaling of the walls”) when Charles-Emmanuel of Savoy attempted to storm Geneva. The successful resistance concluded in the Treaty of Saint Julien in 1603 which guaranteed “permanent” peace. Théodore de Bèze, the last of the reformers, died in 1606. In 1610, fearful of renewed attacks, Geneva reinforced its defences.

In 1613, as the Republic of Geneva started to prosper, François bought land in Satigny. He already owned houses and parcels of land in the vicinity of the Priory since 1610. On 28th July 1612, he acknowledged that he had obtained from “our magnificent, most honoured and sovereign lords the ownership of the tall house adjoining the church’’. He also bought assets in the Mandement** such as houses, barns, fields, vines, land, woods etc.

François had two sons: Benedict, a famous theologian, and Jean, a businessman. They inherited the lands in Satigny according to the will of their father who died in 1628.

Around 1631 Jean, together with Sève the Seigneur of Bossey, Beaumont, Grange and Mérard built the CHÂTEAU DES BOIS. Unfortunately there is very little information about the construction. A description from the end of the 17th Century states that it is “a tall building in the Italian style” and plans from 1830 show that the courtyard was enclosed with arcades on three sides. According to hearsay, a ramp giving access to the upper floors was similar to that at the Town Hall in Lucques in Italy.

Jean lost considerable sums of money in the project to construct the Entreroche canal joining the lakes of Neuchâtel and Geneva. Another project was to have been the construction of a canal from Collonges to Seyssel, which would have connected the Mediterranean to the North Sea!

In 1831, Jean-Daniel Turrettini left the Château to his nephew Louis. In all honesty, it wasn’t such a good inheritance as the house was in poor condition and no longer benefited from the considerable feudal rights: the right to print money, legal rights, the right to life and death, as well as rights to build towns and villages, mills and prisons.

Louis was undecided whether to demolish the house or not but in the end he restored it, the work finishing before 1850. He was the last Turrettini to own the CHÂTEAU DES BOIS, which came into the van Berchem family through marriage.

Originally from Brabant in Flanders, the van Berchem family had had to flee the threats of the inquisition during the reign of Charles Quint. A noble family whose ancestry goes back to the 11th Century, they fled to Basel in 1544 then to Brême in Holland and ultimately to Geneva where they became citizens in 1816.

The start of the 21st century was very dramatic for this old house. On 28th December 1999 the hurricane Lothar, having already felled 300 trees in the forest in the middle of the night, blew off the roof of the big barn which, with its enormous beams, fell down on to an inhabited building on the other side of the courtyard, smashing its roof and windows. Barely rebuilt, the big barn was totally destroyed by fire on 7th April 2000. Many firemen battled through the night to quench the fire which threatened to engulf the neighbouring buildings.

We have rebuilt everything and are now able to mature our wine in the newly restored cellar as well as sell our wines at the property.


*From a book by Simonetta Adorni-Braccesi
**The Mandements were territories belonging to the Republic of Geneva which were enclosed by French land until the Congress of Vienna in 1815. French conscripts frequently sought refuge in the courtyard of the Château.







© Château des Bois 2010

EN l FR l DE

   





Historique du CHÂTEAU DES BOIS
La Seigneurie de Turrettin dite aussi CHÂTEAU DES BOIS fut érigée en terre féodale le 14 juin 1631 pour honorer la mémoire de François Turrettini, bienfaiteur de la République de Genève.

Dans l’Europe de la renaissance déchirée par les luttes religieuses, Genève est la ville du Refuge. La naissance de l’imprimerie et la traduction de la Bible nourrissent les idées nouvelles. A Lucques, le Florentin, Pietro Martire passionne la ville par ses conférences sur le Nouveau Testament et les Psaumes. En avril 1573 l’évêque de Rimini vint dans la «città infetta»* pour arrêter les hérétiques. Beaucoup de jeunes gens quittent la ville. Francesco s’enfuit en 1574. Passant par Lyon où il rejoint des coreligionnaires déjà émigrés, il aboutit à Genève le 24 novembre 1575 où il reste quatre années pour se rendre ensuite à Anvers. Il y demeure jusqu’en 1585 mais doit s’enfuir, la ville étant assiégée par les troupes du Duc de Parme et les Espagnols. Après avoir passé deux années entre Francfort et Bâle, il se fixe à Zurich en 1587 où il se marie avec Camille Burlamachi issue d’une famille qui comme les Micheli, les Calandrini, les Diodati ont dû fuir Lucques. Il s’établit définitivement à Genève en 1592. S’étant considérablement enrichi au cours de sa vie, remerciant Dieu pour tous ses bienfaits, François laissera une somme de 12.000 florins à l’hôpital de sa ville d’adoption «afin que la mendicité et la pauvreté soit ostée de cette ville».

En 1602, c’est «l’Escalade». Charles-Emmanuel de Savoie tente de s’emparer de Genève. Son échec aboutit au Traité de Saint Julien en 1603 qui garantit une paix définitive. Théodore de Bèze, le dernier des réformateurs, meurt en 1606. En 1610, craignant de nouvelles attaques, Genève renforce ses fortifications.

En 1613, la République de Genève commençant à prospérer, François achète des terres à Satigny. Il y possédait déjà des maisons et des parcelles dans les parages du prieuré dès 1610. Le 28 juillet 1612, il reconnaît qu’il tient «de nos magnifiques, très honorés et souverains seigneurs la possession de la maison haute, voisine de l’église». Il achète encore dans le Mandement** des biens consistants en maisons, granges, prés, vignes, hutins, terres, bois et autres.

François a deux fils. Bénédict, célèbre théologien et Jean consacré aux affaires. Ils se partagent les terres de Satigny selon le testament de leur père qui meurt en 1628.

Jean, allié de Sève, Seigneur de Bossey, Beaumont, Grange et Mérard construit le CHÂTEAU DES BOIS aux environ de 1631. On a malheureusement très peu de détails sur la construction. Une description de la fin du XVIIème siècle la qualifie de «maison haute à l’italienne». Des plans de 1830 montrent que la cour était fermée et avait  des arcades sur trois côtés. Selon une tradition orale, une rampe donnait accès aux étages comme à l’Hôtel de Ville de Lucques en Italie.

Jean perd des sommes considérables dans le projet du canal d’Entreroche qui était sensé relier le lac de Neuchâtel à celui de Genève. Un autre projet aurait été de construire un canal de Collonges à Seyssel, ce qui aurait permis de relier la Méditerranée à la mer du Nord!

En 1831, Jean-Daniel Turrettini laisse le Château à son neveu Louis. A vrai dire, ce n’est pas un si bel héritage, la maison est en très mauvais état et ne bénéficie plus des droits féodaux qui étaient considérables: droit de battre monnaie, droit de justice, droit de vie et de mort, droit de construire des bourgs et des villages, des moulins et des prisons.

Louis hésite à raser la maison mais finalement, il la restaure. Les travaux seront terminés avant 1850. Il est le dernier Turrettini à régner sur le CHÂTEAU DES BOIS qui entre par alliance dans la famille van Berchem.

Originaires du Brabant flamand, la famille van Berchem a dû fuir les menaces de l’inquisition à l’époque de Charles Quint. Famille noble dont la filiation remonte au 11ème siècle, ils se réfugient à Bâle en 1544 puis à Brême, en Hollande et enfin à Genève dont ils acquièrent la bourgeoisie en 1816.

L’entrée dans le 21ème siècle a été fracassante pour cette vieille maison. L’ouragan Lothar du 28 décembre 1999 après avoir renversé 300 arbres dans la forêt a emporté en pleine nuit le toit du grand rural qui, avec ses énormes poutres, est venu s’abattre sur un bâtiment habité de l’autre côté de la cour défonçant la toiture et les fenêtres. A peine reconstruit, le grand rural fut complètement détruit par un incendie le 7 avril 2000. De très nombreux pompiers ont lutté toute la nuit contre le feu qui a failli s’étendre à tous les bâtiments.

Nous avons tout reconstruit et sommes maintenant à même d’élever notre vin dans une cave nouvellement restaurée ainsi que de vendre notre production à la propriété.


*Livre de Simonetta Adorni-Braccesi
**Les Mandements étaient des territoires dépendants de la République de Genève enclavés en terre française jusqu’au Congrès de Vienne. Constamment, des conscrits français cherchaient refuge dans la cour du Château.







© Château des Bois 2017